Dulce de leche

Last week I made dulce de leche. We had a fair bit of milk that was on the point of going bad, and what better way to use it than to add sugar and turn it into dulce?

I loosely followed Alton Brown’s recipe , but I had no vanilla so had to skip that. It still tasted damn good. I also switched to metric because I don’t have anything to measure a quart with (nor, most likely, will I ever).

You will need:
950ml milk
1.5 cups sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder
An evening

What to do:
1. Mix together the milk and sugar in a saucepan
2. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until the sugar has dissolved
3.  Add the baking soda and stir to combine, then turn the heat down to very low (so it is barely simmering) and cook uncovered, stirring occasionally but ignoring the foam that will appear on top
4.  Carry on until it has turned a dark caramel colour and has reduced to about 1 cup – this can take up to (or longer than…) 3 hours
5. Strain through a seive into a sterile jar, then store in the fridge – it will keep for a month.

Recipe notes
I think I should have used a smaller saucepan (and thus, smaller hob ring) as I’m fairly sure mine was cooking too hot. However, it did take absolutely ages, to the point where I was checking on it every half an hour, then I left it a little TOO long and I think it overcooked. Definitely better to cook colder, longer I think. Also straining it made a massive sticky mess, though having said that I would make it again (bearing in mind the above points) as it was most yummy – on ice cream, in baked goods, licked off the end of a sneakily-dipped finger…


 

One response to “Dulce de leche

  1. Pingback: One a Day Cheesecake (or, hazelnut caramel chocolate cheesecake) | Li loves cake

Leave a Reply

