Hummingbird chocolate brownies

I have been searching long and hard for the perfect brownie recipe. I feel that with these brownies, made following the Hummingbird Bakery’s recipe (with only a couple of minor adaptations), I have come very close to finding it. At least, the fact that I ate three the day I made them, and three the day after, and two the day after that is a pretty good indication of how good these are. I only got one picture, when I’d just cut them up, as after that I found it preferable to eat them than photograph them.

Ingredients/equipment
200g dark chocolate
175g butter
150g soft brown sugar
175g caster sugar
130g plain flour
3 medium eggs

9 x 13 inch baking pan

Makes 20

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 170C; grease the baking tray
2. Break up the chocolate into a large bowl, then melt with the butter (it’s ok to use the microwave… I promise. Just check it often, stir it and when it’s almost done take it out to finish itself off)
3. Add the sugars and stir until well-incorporated, then do the same with the flour.
4. Beat in the eggs
5. Pour  into the prepared tray and bake for 30-35 minutes, until it’s cracked on top and comes away from the edges of the tray. The middle should still be soft
6. Cool and cut into slices. This will be easier the longer you leave to cool, though I do understand that sometimes temptation is hard to resist. However, while they are cooling you can do other productive activities such as drying your laundry, or teaching your cat to do it for you (she hasn’t quite yet learnt the distinction between helping and hindering, but she’ll get it one day!)

Recipe notes:

  • You’re meant to use unsalted butter, but I used salted, and probably would have done even if I had had unsalted, as a little salt enhances chocolate anyway
  • The original recipe has all caster sugar, but I swapped some out for light brown soft sugar, as when I make blondies I use soft sugar and it gives them a lovely taste and gooeyness
  • I drizzled some of my dulce de leche on the top before baking, but I don’t think it  did much. You couldn’t really taste it, anyway
  • I already said how good these were. I could probably eat a whole tray of them in one sitting – this recipe is definitely a keeper, though I may try some more tweaks such as using even more soft sugar and less caster sugar. Any excuse to make them again!
Leave a Reply

