Bulgur pilaf

I am always on the lookout for recipes I can have for dinner and that will make a nice easy lunch the next day. This one is really up there with the best. It’s totally scrummy, quick to make (and dead easy too), can be eaten warm or cold, has straightforward ingredients I’d probably have in the house most of the time, AND to top it all off, it’s one-pot. Seeing as I stick my saucepans in the dishwasher anyway, there is minimal washing up. Bonus.

I got this recipe from the Sainsbury’s magazine. I started to tear out the pages of recipes I’d like to try, then realised I was going to end up with a stack of torn-out pages taller than the remainder of the magazine, so I stopped. Though they present it as a tasty comfort-food dinner (which it certainly could be), you could also have it as a side salad. I expect if you brought it round to a friend’s BBQ come summer they would invite you again.

Ingredients
Serves 2

1 small red onion, or half a red onion
1 clove of garlic
1/2 tsp each cinnamon and cumin seeds
90g bulgur wheat
175ml vegetable stock or hot water
1 red pepper (Sainsbury’s have you using roasted ones from a jar, but it’s really no extra hassle to do this yourself)
1/2 a 400g tin of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
a little olive oil
feta cheese, chopped (use however much feels right)

Method
1. Preheat oven to 200C. Slice the pepper and drizzle with olive oil, put in to roast
2. Meanwhile, heat a little more olive oil in a saucepan. Finely chop the red onion and fry over a medium-low heat until soft
3. Crush the garlic and stir in with the spices and bulgur wheat, then cook for 1-2 minutes
4. Add the stock, stir, and bring to a boil. Cover and reduce to a simmer for 6-8 minutes, until all the water is absorbed. Remove from the heat and whack the chickpeas in on top, without stirring. Leave for 15 minutes.
5. Take out your roasted pepper, which should now be soft. Add to the saucepan and stir
6. Dish up and sprinkle the chopped feta on top

Recipe notes

  • The original recipe has dill, parsley and mint to scatter on the top when you serve. I am not a huge fan of mint, and didn’t have these anyway. I scattered a little thyme on top just so it would look nice, and it tasted great
  • I would definitely make this again just to bring to work for lunch, as it was so easy. I had quite a large portion for my dinner and still had a decent amount for lunch the next day, so I think you could easily get 3 lunch-sized portions. Your colleagues will be jealous
Leave a Reply

