“Skinny” raspberry and white chocolate muffins

I’ll be honest, I’m not sure there is such a thing as a skinny muffin. I think we all know that if you’re on a diet you shouldn’t really be eating muffins in the first place. But it’s my boss’ birthday, and apparently she’s trying to lose weight. Being the resident baker, I was charged (in a team meeting, no less) with the task of creating a “diet cake”. (Diet cake! really!!) In these circumstances a skinny muffin seems like a perfectly natural thing.

Makes 18 medium-sized muffins, or probably 12 large muffins.

Ingredients
400g self-raising flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
100g caster sugar
200ml low-fat yogurt
2 eggs
150ml milk
150g raspberries (it’s fine to use frozen – I did)
50g white chocolate chips

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 190C (fan 170C). If you don’t have a silicone muffin tray, line your tray with paper cups (then go out and get yourself a silicone muffin tray!)
2. Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl, then add the sugar, raspberries and chocolate chips
3. Whisk the eggs, yogurt and milk in a jug until combined
4. Add to the dry ingredients and mix until combined
5.  Bake for 25 minutes until risen and golden brown

Recipe notes
You might wonder why, if these are supposed to be “skinny” muffins, I have added chocolate. My reasoning is that if the muffin itself is skinny, then that means you can add chocolate. Flawless logic! Also, what with the raspberry each muffin is practically one of your five-a-day. Finally, I just wanted to make raspberry and white chocolate muffins, okay? I have never, to date, baked something I didn’t want to bake and I’m not planning to start just for the sake of a birthday (sorry).

Having said that, I actually thought they could have done with more chocolate, and more raspberries. But I did reduce the sugar from the original and they were just fine. In fact they were pretty scrummy!

An alternative would be to do sour cherry and lemon muffins (like my mother would), which would avoid the whole chocolate issue altogether. If you’re really on a quest for skinny muffins, you could use skimmed milk, but I can’t in good conscience endorse that (my housemate used to drink skimmed milk and I’d joke that if I wanted skimmed milk I could get it from the tap – so you can see my opinion of skimmed milk is not too favourable).

I’m sure everyone in the office will like the idea of a “skinny” muffin, and while these are tasty and obviously have less fat than using oil (instead of the yogurt), I’m struggling with the balance a little. They have less fat. They’re not quite as good as regular muffins. The idea is noble, and there’s nothing wrong with the implementation, but I’m thinking life might just be a little too short for skinny muffins.

Leave a Reply

