Eggless double chocolate cookies

I am still searching for the perfect cookie recipe, so I was delighted when I picked up the June edition of Sainsbury’s magazine and found six variations on a cookie recipe. What is interesting is that the recipe uses condensed milk instead of egg, so while I now have half a tin of condensed milk in my freezer that I will pull out in three month’s time and wonder what the heck it is, the brilliance is that you can eat as much raw cookie dough as you like. You could also use it to make cookie dough ice cream, but I suspect I will really start to appreciate the egglessness in the future when I am pregnant. Just saying.

Makes 16

Ingredients
125g butter, softened
125g granulated sugar
2 tablespoons condensed milk
125g self-raising flour
50g cocoa, sifted
pinch salt
100g white chocolate, chopped (or white chocolate chips)

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 150C (fan 130C). Line or grease two baking sheets
2. Cream the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Beat in the condensed milk, then the flour, cocoa and salt. Finally, stir in the chocolate
3. Roll into balls then squash flat onto a baking tray, leaving space for the cookies to spread
4. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the edges are firm but the centres are still soft. Cool on the baking tray for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack (but not for too long. We all know cookies are best still oven-warm)

Firstly, I have to say that the cookie dough was delicious. I probably ate a whole cookie’s worth before I managed to get them in the oven. And the cookies themselves were delicious too – crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. I look forward to trying some of the other variations… toffee fudge chunk here I come… after I finish off the chocolate ones, of course.

One response to “Eggless double chocolate cookies

  1. Thanks for the recipe. I tried it with custard powder instead of cocoa and added a little mixed spice.

Leave a Reply

