Chocolate espresso pots

I had a hankering for chocolate espresso pots. Perhaps it was because I had been going to make a chocolate tart but then didn’t, or because we were eating al fresco and a little dessert in an espresso cup seemed fitting. The use of pancetta may also have had something to do with it. Sometimes it’s nice to make an event out of dinner on a random weeknight.

Now I was sure I had a recipe for these, but when I looked it up it wasn’t the recipe I thought. So after consulting several recipes and deciding I didn’t want to use 6 egg yolks (meringue/macaroon anyone?), I took matters into my own hands and made up my own recipe.

Serves 4

Ingredients
50g dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids)
150ml double cream
1 tsp instant coffee granules
1 egg yolk
1 tbsp dark brown soft sugar
pinch salt

Method
Break the chocolate into pieces. Add the cream and microwave for 1 minute on high. Stir until choc is melted, then whisk in the egg yolk. Once smooth, mix in sugar, salt and coffee until all smooth. Divide between four espresso cups and chill for at least a couple of hours before serving.

I very much enjoyed these. I would happily serve these at a dinner party as a mini dessert if I’d made a really big main, or even as an extra bonus dessert for people too full for the chocolate tart (or greedy enough to want both). Or for a decadent weeknight, as they really took next to no time to actually make. One egg white is not too hard to use up. I am fairly sure my cupboard will always have at least 50g dark chocolate in it. You could easily mix them up by adding vanilla instead of coffee granules, or orange chocolate, or baileys, or rum… definitely rum. I think I will be making these again very soon.

One response to “Chocolate espresso pots

  1. This looks so rich and delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

